My Happy Faces

erin-mj-molly.jpgune-chanson-enivrante-myself.jpgDenizerin-mj-molly.jpg

3-my-une-chanson-enivrante.jpg1-my-butterfly-deniz.jpg

My Happy Faces

This is The World Of Happy, according to Worp.

You wouldn’t have noticed, so I want to tell you that, finally, I have been able to change all by myself my header image for my new blogsite, my first in WordPress. So what is that? A minor achievement, actually, considering I’m 66 and self-taught on hardware and software, up to and including some HTML – I started using the desktop computer in 1985. It’s another reason I’m happy. Happy is something we should all try to be, as long as we don’t make others unhappy. So, it’s clear that my new blogsite is about creativity. You cannot be creative unless you are like Une Chanson Enivrante, who captions the image I’m using as my logo: ‘Ridiculously and irrationally naïve.’ I’m a different kind of creative myself. My own ‘I believe, therefore I am’ is an approach to creativity, which is like being naive.

On 20 June 2006, I started to collect faces of happy girls from Flickr into a folder I called My Pictures HAPPY FACES. I also have My Pictures HOPEFUL FACES. My Pictures MARSHA (Maria Sharapova). Why not? I wanted/want to be inspired everyday. That’s how I found many happy countenances.

So now I have innocent, young girls with wide smiles or bright faces. Photos you wouldn’t be ashamed to show anyone, including other young, innocent girls. Everyday, I set a new image as my wallpaper. I’m a multi-tasker, if you know what I mean. When I’m on my desktop, I don’t open Windows full screen; instead, I leave some 4 inches of my desktop free of Word and Windows and any other application open so that I can see part of the background. I can see the face because I set the wallpaper to tile. A little bit like you can see here.

Currently I have 50 faces and 3 favorites (names arranged as they appear above), all downloaded from Flickr:
Erin MJ (Oregon, United States)
Une Chanson Enivrante (Winnipeg, Canada)
Butterfly Deniz (Eskisehir, Turkey)

(I wanted to arrange those images in alphabetical order, but it didn’t look right, so art got the better of mathematics, as it should.) These young girls are in different stages in their journey into photography and writing as these images may show. Deniz is happy with herself; Une is happy also with her photography and writing; and so is Erin with her photography and blogging.

From Erin, from her Lylium.org/:

I have taken some flak (or at least some well-deserved questioning looks) for the huge number of photos of myself displayed on this website. So I feel I should just warn you up front that this entry is chock full of pictures of me … but don’t worry, they are ALL EMBARRASSING.

From Une, from her flickr profile:
some stay daydreamers,
we create the dreams,
holding hands wearing astronaut suits,
swingsets on beaches,
you make me smile you.
an artist a lover and a fighter,
someone to fall back on, who would indulge in my creativity.

From Deniz, flickr caption (typed differently from this):
Feel the rain on your skin, no one else can feel it for you, only you can let it in. No one else, no one else, can speak the words on your lips!

Une is the one I called ‘the perfect picture of creativity’ in my post before this. There is a certain shyness and a certain openness in her face that to me wonderfully presents the felicitous posture of one in a moment of creativity. I’ve been consciously browsing, surfing and searching everywhere in the virtual field of creativity since 1975 when we were working as copywriters for Pacifica Publicity Bureau and my good friend Orli Ochosa gave me his copy of Edward De Bono’s 1968 book The Mechanism Of Mind. De Bono is the inventor of lateral thinking, an approach to creative thinking. De Bono or not, the rule as I know is: No Felicity, No Creativity. And I see that Une’s hair best frames that creative posture, even as they suggest so many different possibilities. I shall from now on also call it ‘the perfect posture of creativity.’ Added 6 November 2006 at 0545: And, may I add, I will borrow again from Une and give you yet another definition: ‘Creative is being ridiculously and irrationally naive.’ If you don’t appreciate that, you’re not creative.

Can one summon creativity just like that, with a smile? Yes. I’ve been doing it for 31 years, even without that certain smile – how much more with a smile like that? I have since lost that book, but I never lost De Bono’s main lesson, conjuring creativity by saying ‘Po’ to any idea that he labels neither negative nor positive; saying ‘Po’ all the time even to an absurd or outrageous or crazy or irrelevant idea because there is always a potential of good or novel from anything your mind or somebody else’s brings up. In a brainstorming, whether in group or alone, no criticizing, no commenting, just accepting and letting go at that. Criticizing an idea at once closes the door of opportunity to creativity. A frown comes to the face, and then the wonderful moment is gone.

The trouble with Edward De Bono is that while he is very creative, when he explains creativity, he is too stiff, formal, too logical – the opposite of creative. In his many books that I have read, I don’t remember that he ever, ever mentions a happy face.

If you don’t like happy faces, don’t look for the face of creativity. If you want to be inspired but insist on criticizing every little idea or non-idea that comes up, every criticism becomes what I shall call here a Thinker’s Block, which is the same as a Writer’s Block.

I told you I wanted to be inspired. So I have been.

The images in my Happy Faces collection tell me that there are some people who are naturally happy no matter what happens. The least I can do for myself is share with their sunny disposition. Creativity calls for a sunny disposition even when, or especially when, the day isn’t sunny. I wish you a sunny day today. If that doesn’t work, help yourself to a sunny smile!

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogging, creative thinking, Creativity, critical thinking, lateral thinking, naivety

Leave a Reply

