Make Love, Not War

dale-neill-track-one.jpg

Make Love, Not War

I was looking for love in Flickr (“make love” said my search text, including the double quotes), and the first image I saw I fell in love with: Dale Neill’s ‘Track One’ (flickr.com/), uploaded 25 November 2006. It tells me this: To love is to make beautiful music together. To steal moments being together, going nowhere but here, alone in all the world. And not to let that love be interrupted by interruptions, contraptions, eruptions, obstructions, even deconstructions. Shakespeare writes: ‘Love is not love that alters / When it alteration finds.’ You and I can see love everywhere and all the time we look if we want to, and that’s the point: we should want to.

In another blogsite, I posted ‘Children Of A Greater God’ (below) yesterday with the image below as explained in the blogtext:

*****
amy-kubes-miles-hugs-scarlett.jpg

Children Of A Greater God
01 December – The pastoral text of Fr Reuter is this: Our Lord was born as a baby, because He wanted to be loved. It is hard to love anything that you can not put your arms around. Everyone loves a baby. Apt image by Amy Kubes who captions it ‘Miles Hugs Scarlett’ (flickr.com/). Yes, except if we become children again, we cannot enter the kingdom of God and love those whom we hate. The babies are not only those whom we cannot help but love; they are the ones showing us that we ought to love all the time.

Then I wrote Amy and told her I used her photo in my blogsite ‘My Reuter Almanac’ and didn’t forget to say ‘Thank you’ – and Scot Hacker wrote this, also in her behalf, I suppose (I didn’t edit it) in http://birdhouse.org/blog/2006/12/01/children-of-a-greater-god/:

*****
Children of a Greater God?

Weird misappropriation. A well-intentioned man with a big heart, but who is also a pretty radical Christian opposed to single-sex marriage, “borrowed” one of Amy’s images from Flickr (Miles hugging his cousin Scarlett) and posted it to his own site, with some vague message about how we can’t enter the kingdom of god without having the innocence and love of a child. Unlike most image borrowers, the guy actually wrote Amy to let her know he was using the image, and he gave her credit on his blog.

So one hand it’s cool that he gave credit. On the other hand, his approach of borrowing first and asking later isn’t cool in Amy’s book, and we’re both angered by the fact that Miles’ image is now associated with a site that stands in staunch defiance of basic human rights.

Obviously, I’ve got a more open attitude toward sharing and re-mixing of content on the open net, but I also get chills thinking about Miles’ image being associated with hateful views. Amy’s going to be asking him to take it down. Will be interesting to see how he responds.

*****
My reactions? First, I have deleted that offending/offended image and changed it in that other blogsite (I posted it here only because I want you to see where I’m coming from in this whole hullabaloo). I must say I liked it and I didn’t want to see it go like that. The power to delete is greater than the power to download and then upload (with or without permission). Now I’m blogging. The power to blog is greater than the power of the editor to reject an article for publication in the traditional print media. Thank God for blogging!

I can’t see why Scot Hacker (and Amy Kubes, I presume?) can’t see the wisdom of these simple words that (almost) everybody knows aren’t mine: ‘Yes, except if we become children again, we cannot enter the kingdom of God’ – unless they don’t believe in God, unless they don’t read the Bible, unless they don’t believe in becoming like children again. If you don’t believe in the Christian God that I believe in as a Roman Catholic, then I believe you and yours are children of a lesser God.

The God I believe in tells me to love those whom I hate. Even if you don’t believe in God, even if you don’t believe in the God I believe in, what’s wrong with this statement? ‘The babies are not only those whom we cannot help but love; they are the ones showing us that we ought to love all the time.’ It’s an invitation to love!

And so Scot has discovered that like a good Roman Catholic, I do not subscribe to same-sex marriages (I believe they’re not made in heaven), to which he subscribes as one of the basic human rights (I believe it’s one of the basic human wrongs).

By the way, all my blogs and blogsites (you can’t count them) are non-commercial. I don’t sell products or services – essentially I sell creative thinking along with critical thinking, even when I don’t state it like that – we call that in marketing packaging, I think. (I know the 4 Ps of marketing – pricing, positioning, packaging, promotion – but I have never been good at marketing, even promoting myself). What Scot has done is critical thinking. I sell faith above reason. What Scot is trying to sell me is reason above faith. Well, we are entitled to our own mistakes; that is the essence of freedom.

About hate, my advice to Scot is so simple it’s not even original (you remember the Vietnam War?): Make love, not war. Don’t hate even if your views are contrary to someone else’s. Why? For the simple reason that hate hates haters. Jesus Christ said, ‘Love your enemies.’ I suppose it’s because you use up more energy hating than loving, and you foul up your own body systems when you assume the opposite of love. Surely, you can do better than that; your body deserves better than that. You have a choice.

So, to all the Scot Hackers of the world, let me repeat the words of true love by someone who knows more than we do (Philippians 4: 8):
Whatsoever things are true,
whatsoever things are honest,
whatsoever things are just,
whatsoever things are pure,
whatsoever things are lovely,
whatsoever things are of good report;
if there be any virtue,
and if there be any praise,
think on those things.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Explore posts in the same categories: Children of a Greater God, Children of a Lesser God, Christian God, creative thinking, critical thinking, faith over reason, freedom, Hate hate haters, human rights, human wrongs, Love your enemies, Make Love Not War, reason over faith, same-sex marriages, St Paul

Leave a Reply

