Writer’s Notes: An Inconvenient Troth

Subject essay: ‘An Inconvenient Troth. The Mess Media In The Philippines’ – read at frankahilario.com.

messed-media-289.jpg I wanted to start with the notion of a theory of media; the thought struck me on page 9 of my notes. In fact, the title of my notes was, ‘Free Speech Notes.’ I started with the idea of free speech.

Then ‘Wrong Revolution. Mess Media In The Philippines’ became ‘Wrong Revolutionaries. Mess Media In The Philippines’ when I remembered I had worked on a list of ‘animal metaphors’ February 18. And yes, this is a vocabulary essay, but I didn’t plan it that way. It just happened along the way. I wanted to alphabetize the 21 in the list of animal groups, but I have to follow my own advice of starting strongly and endingly strongly – so you will notice that except the first and the last, the entries are alphabetically arranged.

And then ‘Wrong Revolutionaries. Mess Media In The Philippines’ became ‘An Inconvenient Troth. The Mess Media In The Philippines.’ That was when I came up with the meaning of the word that I would use in contradistinction from truth: the acronym troth, which is the revolution of the heart.

I took the photo inside our apartment; I assure you it doesn’t look messy like that anymore. In fact, I’m out of that room; I’m in a new room that looks like an Internet café, aircon included. Right now there are three computers, the third being this HP Compaq Presario C700 laptop.

Explore posts in the same categories: mass media, troth, truth

Leave a Reply

